The Scoop

Florida Laws

Discover important state and local employment laws for Florida.
Share
Published: Apr 19, 2024

Florida’s “Stop-WOKE” Law Ruled Unconstitutional

Florida’s “Stop-WOKE” Law Ruled Unconstitutional
Share
Update Effective: March 4, 2024

On March 4, 2024, Florida's Stop-WOKE law, also referred to as the Individual Freedom Act (IFA), which previously restricted employers from mandating discussions or training on topics such as racial or gender issues, was declared unconstitutional for infringing on protected speech. Consequently, employers in Florida are no longer able to enforce the IFA's limitations on training discussions concerning these subjects. Employers are encouraged to consult with legal counsel to discuss revising their policies and training materials to align with this legal development.

Read More
Published: Sep 14, 2023

Florida Minimum Wage Increase for 2023

Florida Minimum Wage Increase for 2023
Share
Update Effective: September 30, 2023

Effective September 30, 2023, the Florida minimum wage will increase to $12.00 per hour. Florida’s minimum wage will increase by $1.00 each year on September 30 until the minimum wage reaches $15.00 per hour in 2026.

Read More
Published: Jun 15, 2023

Employers Required to Use E-Verify for New Hires

Employers Required to Use E-Verify for New Hires
Share
Update Effective: July 1, 2023

Florida will require private employers with 25 or more employees in the state to utilize E-Verify when individuals begin employment, beginning this July. E-Verify is a federal system that allows employers to confirm the eligibility of their employees to work in the US. While using E-Verify is generally voluntary for private companies, it is not optional in certain states, in the public sector, and for federal contractors and subcontractors. This new requirement does not replace, but is in addition to, existing federal Form I-9 employment eligibility verification requirements. Businesses with less than 25 employees can continue to use the Form I-9 to verify employment eligibility or choose to take the additional step of using E-Verify.

Read More
Published: Jun 15, 2023

Amended Law Prohibits Vaccination Status, Face Mask, and COVID-19 Test Mandates

Amended Law Prohibits Vaccination Status, Face Mask, and COVID-19 Test Mandates
Share
Update Effective: June 1, 2023

In May, Florida passed an amendment prohibiting businesses and employers from implementing COVID-19 mandates regarding vaccines, vaccination status, masking, and testing for any individuals. Employers are prohibited from imposing COVID-19-related restrictions in making employment decisions such as hiring, firing, and other job-related adverse actions for job applicants or employees. Employers should review and update their current policies to meet the state’s new requirements.

Read More
Published: Sep 15, 2022

Florida Minimum Wage Update

Florida Minimum Wage Update
Share
Update Effective: Sep 30, 2022

Effective September 30, 2022, the minimum hourly wage in Florida will increase to $11.00 an hour. The Florida minimum wage will increase $1.00 every year until the minimum wage reaches $15.00 an hour in 2026.

Read More
Published: Nov 11, 2021

Florida Employers Required to Report Independent Contractors Upon Hire

Florida Employers Required to Report Independent Contractors Upon Hire
Share
Update Effective: October 1, 2021

Florida employers who conduct business with independent contractors and compensate them $600 or more in a calendar year are now required to report their new hire information to the Florida Department of Revenue. Reporting must be made within 20 days after the employer’s first payment to the independent contractor, or on the date in which the employer and the independent contractor entered into their contract, whichever date is earlier.

For customers who generally meet this requirement, Justworks will report independent contractors who are paid through Justworks as part of regular new hire reporting.

Read More
Published: Aug 11, 2021

Minimum Wage Increase in Florida

Minimum Wage Increase in Florida
Share
Update Effective: September 30, 2021

Effective September 30, 2021, Florida’s minimum wage for non-tipped employees will increase to $10/hour. This is part of an annual schedule to increase the minimum wage rate up to $15/hour by 2026, after which the rate will be adjusted annually based on the Consumer Price Index.

Read More
Published: Aug 13, 2020

New Hiring Requirements for Certain Florida Employers

New Hiring Requirements for Certain Florida Employers
Share
Update Effective: January 1, 2021

In June, Governor DeSantis signed legislation that will require all public employers and certain private employers to use the E-Verify system, a system designed to confirm the validity of documentation provided by new hires. Private employers are not required to use E-Verify unless they have a contract with a public employer or bid on public contracts, though private employers must still comply with Form I-9 verification requirements for all new hires.

Read More

Need employment law & compliance support?

We've got your back with The Scoop, a monthly newsletter you can subscribe to for the latest compliance updates.
This material has been prepared for informational purposes only, and is not intended to provide, and should not be relied on for, legal or tax advice. If you have any legal or tax questions regarding this content or related issues, then you should consult with your professional legal or tax advisor.
Ebook

Download our free ebook

Scale your business and build your team — no matter which way it grows. Access the tools, perks, and resources to help you stay compliant and grow in all 50 states.

Download
Kindle