The Scoop

Nevada Laws

Discover important state and local employment laws for Nevada.
Share
Published: Jan 18, 2024

Nevada Expands Domestic Violence Leave Laws

Nevada Expands Domestic Violence Leave Laws
Share
Update Effective: January 1, 2024

On January 1, 2024 Nevada’s expansions to its existing domestic violence leave laws became effective. The laws now extend job-protected leave and accommodations to victims of sexual assault and their family or household members. This legislation builds on existing laws for domestic violence victims, which entitles eligible individuals to  up to 160 hours of paid or unpaid leave within a 12-month period. Eligible employees, who have been employed for at least 90 days, can use this leave for health care, counseling, court proceedings, or creating safety plans. Employers are required to post updated notices. Additionally, employers should be mindful of additional confidentiality and record-keeping responsibilities. Employers should update their policies immediately to ensure compliance with the law.

Read More
Published: Sep 16, 2021

New limitations for Nevada employers on the use of non-compete agreements

New limitations for Nevada employers on the use of non-compete agreements
Share
Update Effective: October 1, 2021

Nevada has amended its non-compete statute by prohibiting employers from entering into a non-compete agreement in several instances. Notably, effective October 1st, 2021, employers are banned from using non-compete agreements for hourly employees who do not receive tips or gratuities, among other limitations.

Read More
Published: Aug 11, 2021

Wage Range Disclosure and Salary History Ban

Wage Range Disclosure and Salary History Ban
Share
Update Effective: October 1, 2021

Nevada became yet another state to pass a wage range disclosure law, effective October 1, 2021. The law requires that employers provide applicants with the wage range for a position after they’ve completed an interview. A wage range must also be provided to current employees who have been offered a promotion or transfer, or who applied for a promotion or transfer to a new position and completed an interview, if they request such information.

Read More
Published: Aug 11, 2021

Kin Care Law

Kin Care Law
Share
Update Effective: October 1, 2021

Beginning in October, employers that provide paid or unpaid sick leave must also allow their employees to use their sick leave to provide care to an immediate family member with a qualifying medical need. Employers are able to restrict the amount of annual kin care leave to the amount of sick leave the employee accrues in a 6 month period.

Read More
Published: Jul 15, 2021

COVID-19-related Paid Leave

COVID-19-related Paid Leave
Share
Update Effective: Immediately

Subject to certain exceptions, private employers in Nevada with 50 or more employees must provide all employees with up to a maximum of 4 hours of paid leave in order to receive a COVID-19 vaccine. Employees may receive up to 2 hours of consecutive paid leave per injection. The law remains in effect through December 31, 2023.

Read More
Published: Jul 15, 2021

Nevada Bans Hairstyle Discrimination

Nevada Bans Hairstyle Discrimination
Share
Update Effective: June 2, 2021

Nevada is yet another state that expanded the definition of race to include hair texture and protective hairstyles that are historically associated with race, and prohibits discrimination based on such hairstyles. The law covers employers with 15 or more employees each working day in 20 or more calendar weeks in the current or preceding calendar year, subject to limited exceptions.

Read More
Published: Dec 12, 2019

Nevada Enacts Paid Leave for Any Reason

Nevada Enacts Paid Leave for Any Reason
Share
Update Effective: January 1, 2020

Employers in Nevada with 50 or more employees will be required to provide paid leave to employees, to be used for any reason. Unlike paid sick and safe leave laws in other jurisdictions, which detail the circumstances in which leave may be used, the Nevada law allows leave granted in compliance with this law to be used for any reason the employee chooses.

Read More
Published: Dec 12, 2019

Nevada Becomes First State to Ban Pre-Employment Marijuana Screening

Nevada Becomes First State to Ban Pre-Employment Marijuana Screening
Share
Update Effective: January 1, 2020

Nevada will make it illegal for private employers in the state to make adverse hiring decisions in most cases when candidates screen positive for marijuana.

Read More

Need employment law & compliance support?

We've got your back with The Scoop, a monthly newsletter you can subscribe to for the latest compliance updates.
This material has been prepared for informational purposes only, and is not intended to provide, and should not be relied on for, legal or tax advice. If you have any legal or tax questions regarding this content or related issues, then you should consult with your professional legal or tax advisor.
Ebook

Download our free ebook

Scale your business and build your team — no matter which way it grows. Access the tools, perks, and resources to help you stay compliant and grow in all 50 states.

Download
Kindle